A little positivity

After all that admission of guilt in the last post, I think I’ll roll with some of the things I’m not too bad at, in fact let’s make a list (don’t you just love a good list?).

sketch-1486164087363

  • All my food waste is going into the council composting bin.
  • I recycle quite a lot of stuff (I’m lucky that in Cambridge where I live the council collects loads of materials).
  • I try to switch lights off in the house.
  • I try to use freecycle or charity shops when I’m clearing stuff out.
  • I put on a jumper before I turn on the heating.
  • I try to think about what fish and meat I buy.
  • I never buy peruvian asparagus.
  • I repair some of my clothes and I shop to last, no fast fashion here.

Ok so nothing spectacular, but better than nothing.

So, what’s the plan then? As an enthusiastic consumer of eco/ make do and mend blogs I know that lots of their writers take on grand challenges; to buy nothing new (this is my fav, I love Jen), to go plastic free, have zero waste. I’m also a big fan of Karen Canard over at the rubbish diet, and I’m working my way through the back catalogue of her original blog.

But I’m a bit of a woose (hmm not sure I’ve ever tried to write woose down before, minor spelling trauma moment), and don’t think that I can manage grand schemes at the moment. So I’m going for a slow and steady approach, so that hopefully I stick with the changes.

Lots of these eco champions talk about how zero waste/ sustainability has become part of their lives, so they don’t really struggle at it anymore. I’m really hoping that’s true. There’s nothing more frustrating than looking at blog posts with ’10 easy changes’ and thinking, shit* that’s not really easy!

But hey this was meant to be the positive post, fluffy bunnies, resounding success, more anon.

*yes people it’s that kind of blog, delicate souls are free to tap out.

 

Leave a Reply

